Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: First time tour advice please

Kinda new round here

First time tour advice please

Hi Everyone

I am English and I am thinking about doing a tour of parts of Nevada and California. I only ride bikes I can't drive a car so i would have to rent a bike for the entire time i am in the usa. There are a few things i could do with help on, I have never done a tour anywhere before so advice about everything from start to finish would be good.

I can't walk far because of a disability so i'd have to be sure that tours don't involve much walking. about a mile is what i can manage.

I need to spend a couple of days in Ely Nevada, and a few days in califorina, this is to visit friends.

I am not sure where to start with my plans, can anyone help me with advice on planning this and on what tour pashnit would be best for me.
    I know I want to see the house where Charmed is filmed i want to see alcatraz, the golden gate bridge, i am not sure what else i want to see.

i hope some one can help with some advice
    thanks
    I will be traveling alone

Re: First time tour advice please

I Dont know too much about Nevada except that its wide open and desolate out that way towards Ely. Take Hwy 50 WEST into Fallon and then find your way into Virginia City most definately!. Also Carson City just for fun and then head towards South Lake Tahoe over Mount Rose. Ride around the entire lake if at all possible you will love the scenery from all angles. Depending on where youre headed in CA, you can take either HWY 80 out of NORTH LAKE TAHOE or HWY 50 out of SOUTH LAKE TAHOE to the west. Both routes will take you towards SACRAMENTO, CA.

80 is large freeway and 50 is mostly two-lane road through many small towns. Both are typically kept open unless theres a storm brewing.

Check out Pashnit tours and ride libraries for many many options from there.

Quote Originally Posted by witchypoo View Post
    Hi Everyone