Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Google maps

  1. #1
    Cooligan CRASH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Santa Cruz Mountains
    Posts
    3,400

    Google maps

    Okay, this is not GPS related, but it does also say "Mapping Technology" in the title.

    So I think I may finally actually be figuring out how to get GOOGLE MAPS to do what I want (I stopped doing it the hard way - can you imagine it got EASIER?). So I am cruising along and then I get to Crater Lake. I want to enter from the south, head left and go all the way around the lake clockwise and then retrace that last quarter to exit to the north to Diamond Lake. Goggle is SMARTER than me and tries to route me all over gods earth to the south east and back into the park counter clockwise. I tried to go counter clockwise and the same thing happened.

    Is there a trick or is this bugged?
    - CRASH -
    AMA# 1103547
    BMWMOA# 159231
    IBA# 21680
    Jenny's # 867-5309
    "These are my Pashnit/Passionate boys." - Tyler Risk

  2. #2
    Brickus Turkus Turkus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Riverside County
    Posts
    4,241

    2cents Google maps

    Quote Originally Posted by CRASH View Post
    Is there a trick or is this bugged?
    you can do it by picking multiple points along the route (and focing a loop if that is what you are after) BUT you burn up valuable "destination markers"
    (I think you only get A through X - DAMHIK)

    Google maps bite............but what do you want for free ??
    Bruce

    Adventure is just poor planning - Roald Amundsen

    GMR1 2009

    Ride Safe and with a purpose
    www.streetmasters.info

    Follow Streetmasters on Facebook

  3. #3
    Super Member bosozoku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    5,312

    Re: Google maps

    I think it's set up for cagers, hence the intolerance for creative routing..

    The good news is that the loop road snowplowing has been completed much earlier than usual, about 10 days ago.

  4. #4
    Cooligan CRASH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Santa Cruz Mountains
    Posts
    3,400

    Re: Google maps

    Quote Originally Posted by Turkus View Post
    you can do it by picking multiple points along the route (and focing a loop if that is what you are after) BUT you burn up valuable "destination markers"
    (I think you only get A through X - DAMHIK)

    Google maps bite............but what do you want for free ??
    I tried putting them so close they were almost on top of each other. No good all of a sudden the route will change and loop me around and outside Crater Lake and back in.

    I usually use MS Streets and Trips and like it okay. I do use Google to double check things at times since none of them are perfect. Was just trying to post some routes up for folks to comment on and am about ready to say nasty things.
    - CRASH -
    AMA# 1103547
    BMWMOA# 159231
    IBA# 21680
    Jenny's # 867-5309
    "These are my Pashnit/Passionate boys." - Tyler Risk

  5. #5
    Senior Member Knife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Downingtown, PA
    Posts
    391

    Re: Google maps

    I thought you could "drag" the route line and drop it wherever you wanted to, but maybe I'm confusing it with other mapping programs. I'll give it a try tonight.

  6. #6
    Silverback Don Tuite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Redwood City, CA
    Posts
    65

    Re: Google maps

    Divide and conquer. Set up your segments as separate trips.

  7. #7
    Cooligan CRASH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Santa Cruz Mountains
    Posts
    3,400

    Re: Google maps

    Quote Originally Posted by Don Tuite View Post
    Divide and conquer. Set up your segments as separate trips.
    The lap around Crater Lake would be a single segment. Basically, you CANNOT drive around Crater Lake based on Goggle Maps. Try it, route form Prospect and go up to Diamond Lake and make a lap around the lake on your way. I have tried it on 3 different computers now and all behave the same. The program is buggy or I am doing something wrong, but what is beyond me.

    Knife, you can drag, but there is something amiss on this route.

    Here is what it looks like:

    http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?oe=ut...,0.264187&z=13
    - CRASH -
    AMA# 1103547
    BMWMOA# 159231
    IBA# 21680
    Jenny's # 867-5309
    "These are my Pashnit/Passionate boys." - Tyler Risk

  8. #8
    V-Strom rider shaklee909's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    San Bernardino
    Posts
    522

    Re: Google maps

    Try this one

    Quote Originally Posted by CRASH View Post
    The lap around Crater Lake would be a single segment. Basically, you CANNOT drive around Crater Lake based on Goggle Maps. Try it, route form Prospect and go up to Diamond Lake and make a lap around the lake on your way. I have tried it on 3 different computers now adn all behave the same. The program is buggy or I am doing something wrong, but what is beyond me.

    Knife, you can drag, but there is something amiss on this route.

    Here is what it looks like:

    http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?oe=ut...,0.264187&z=13

  9. #9
    Cooligan CRASH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Santa Cruz Mountains
    Posts
    3,400

    Re: Google maps

    I tried a bunch, I guess just not the right combination. Thanks.
    - CRASH -
    AMA# 1103547
    BMWMOA# 159231
    IBA# 21680
    Jenny's # 867-5309
    "These are my Pashnit/Passionate boys." - Tyler Risk

  10. #10
    Cooligan CRASH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Santa Cruz Mountains
    Posts
    3,400

    Re: Google maps

    Ah, well close ... now keep going around to leave o the north and I am back at the same issue again. Still playin.
    - CRASH -
    AMA# 1103547
    BMWMOA# 159231
    IBA# 21680
    Jenny's # 867-5309
    "These are my Pashnit/Passionate boys." - Tyler Risk

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How to link and display Google Maps and MapQuest Maps.
    By matthewp in forum California - Road Trips & Pics, pics, pics
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 05-12-2011, 04:44 AM
  2. Google maps transfer onto Garmin 750?
    By Icambel1 in forum GPS & Mapping Technology for Travel
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-28-2009, 05:35 PM
  3. embedded google maps not working?
    By j2x in forum Pashnit Interactive
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-03-2009, 05:25 PM
  4. Need help in posting google maps and routes??
    By Jimbo94 in forum Pashnit Interactive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-29-2008, 09:08 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •