Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Best route for an introduction to L.A. canyon riding?

Best route for an introduction to L.A. canyon riding?

I'm new to L.A. and am heading out tomorrow to explore some of the canyon roads. Any suggestions for a good loop to ride to get the best sampling of the sportriding here? I'd like to include Mulholland Highway because it sounds like fun, but am open to other suggestions. So far my only sport ride in the area has been Angeles Crest, which was a blast. So, where should I head tomorrow? I live in Echo Park in L.A. and would like to keep freeway riding to a minimum en route to the twisties. Thanks in advance.

Re: Best route for an introduction to L.A. canyon riding?

Just a suggestion but try looking up "Gixxerdale" in the members list. Read all of his ride posts...he definately knows whats what.

Starting at Las Virgenes Rd, I like this loop: Piuma Rd, Schuren Rd, Stunt Rd, Mulholland Highway.

Thumbup Re: Best route for an introduction to L.A. canyon riding?

I love tight twistys, so my personal favorite loop is PCH to Topanga Cyn, Left on Old Topanga Cyn, Left on Mulholland, Stop at the Rock Store( easy to find on a sunday), Avoid the squids as you continue north, Left on Kanan, Left on Latigo Cyn, Rt on PCH, Stop at Neptunes net, RT just past the net, and follow it back, another break, Mulholland south to Stunt Rd., Rt up the hill, left at the top, and a Right at the Tuna Cyn intersection, follow it down, You should be pooped by then, left on PCH and home...........
    Of course I lived in Santa Monica, you might find other access to these roads easier...

Thanks for the responses! Planeoldguy, that loop sounds like just what I'm looking for. I'll give it a whack tomorrow and report back.

RedWreck, welcome. The SMM's route Chris suggested is great. Just watch yourself. Two weeks ago the LEOs were working it really hard at the top of Stunt. Even writting the bicycles!