Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: To Mile High Overlook and back, on Mammoth Pool Road (lot of pics...)

...riding California... eye.surgeon's Avatar
    Name
    Rod
    Bike(s)
    Ducati Multistrada

To Mile High Overlook and back, on Mammoth Pool Road (lot of pics...)

To Mile High Overlook and back, on Mammoth Pool Road

I had a restless sleep last night. I have been wanting to ride Mammoth Pool Road for a few weeks, intrigued by the descriptions of the road here. Funny how this road has several names. Mammoth Pool, Minarets, Sierra Vista Scenic Byway, or forest road 81. Take your pick.

Last saturday it was just too cold, so I took a trip on the valley floor where it is a lot warmer than in the Sierras. Today, though, looked good. The forecast was perfect, I studied all the maps of the area and descriptions posted on Pashnit, and couldn't wait to get going.

I was ready to roll at 7 AM, dressed in a sweatshirt with leather jacket to keep the early morning chill off. Departure temperature was about 60 degrees. Call me a California wimp but that's plenty cold for me.

A picture of my garage where I keep my 6 week old Suzuki Boulevard, along with my cages, a BMW 545i and a Range Rover HSE. As you can see I tend to spend a little more on the cars than the motorbikes. Actually this Suzuki is a bargain in my opinion, loads of bike for less than the tax on that Rover.

Although this picture isn't beautiful, it's the only one I took today that shows the ghost flames in my otherwise pearl white bike, if anyone cares

I started out from Clovis on Friant Road, past Friant dam, and on to road 206 west. A right turn onto road 211, a lonely ribbon of nice pavement that winds through scattered ranch estates and rarely sees traffic. I think I saw one other car on this road. So much for California gridlock, I don't know how you coastal CA people do it

There are so many roads like this around Fresno, Madera, and Tulare county. Thanks to Pashnit for opening my eyes