Thread: SF Bay Area to Grand Canyon

Kinda new round here

SF Bay Area to Grand Canyon

Hello. I am a new member and my girlfriend and I are going to take a road trip to the Grand Canyon on our SV650's. I would like to know the most twistie least straight away way to get there. Time is not the big issue, turning is! Thanks for the advice.

As a side note, I have been riding for 12 years on the dirt and track but have never gone over a day journey. Any absolute must bring along items for a multiple day trip would be great. (ie: what are the most important tools, etc.)

Name
    Jason
    Bike(s)
    Honda 599

Re: SF Bay Area to Grand Canyon

Heading south from SF, you are going to encounter loads of opportunities for twisty bliss. But once you reach Barstow you are pretty much stuck with bland roads.

An alternative would be to take the northern route into Arizona through Utah. Take 50 across Nevada, and then hit some National Parks on your way south towards the Grand Canyon. HWY 12 in Utah is supposed to be awesome.

Looks like an opportunity for a long loop!

As for stuff to bring, bring the essentials: Cell Phone, toothpaste, extra underwear, and of course a camera.

Go ahead and pass me... Backmarker's Avatar
    Name
    Renee
    Bike(s)
    Aprilia Mille RSVR, Yamaha TTR-125L

Essentials would also include boring practical stuff like sunscreen (even thru the visor you can burn) and a Camelbak. Like their ad says "Hydrate or die". Some small quick energy snacks to keep in the tank back or in the Camelbak pockets (non-melty stuff like Gu packs. Really helps to keep you going along those long boring stretches when there ain't much to eat or see. Gotta keep your energy up). A decent map. Maybe even consider joining AMA and getting MOTOW insurance. MOTOW is only $25 extra but can save you BIG bucks.

Most of all, have fun! Sounds like a great ride!
    Some people just don't know how to drive... I call these people "Everybody But Me."

Name
    Steven
    Bike(s)