Pashnit Motorcycle Forum

CA Moto Roads Get your Pashnit PASHNIT
Go Back   Pashnit Motorcycle Forum > Pashnit Trip Planning > GPS & Mapping Technology for Travel

Notices

Motoroads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2009, 09:04 PM   #1
CRASH
Cooligan
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Name: Dan

Location:
  Santa Cruz Mountains

Motorcycle:
  2004 BMW K1200GT

Join Date: Feb 2005

Posts: 3,334
Google maps

Okay, this is not GPS related, but it does also say "Mapping Technology" in the title.

So I think I may finally actually be figuring out how to get GOOGLE MAPS to do what I want (I stopped doing it the hard way - can you imagine it got EASIER?). So I am cruising along and then I get to Crater Lake. I want to enter from the south, head left and go all the way around the lake clockwise and then retrace that last quarter to exit to the north to Diamond Lake. Goggle is SMARTER than me and tries to route me all over gods earth to the south east and back into the park counter clockwise. I tried to go counter clockwise and the same thing happened.

Is there a trick or is this bugged?
__________________
- CRASH -
AMA# 1103547
BMWMOA# 159231
IBA# 21680
Jenny's # 867-5309
"These are my Pashnit/Passionate boys." - Tyler Risk
CRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 09:18 PM   #2
Turkus
Booie Tuchus
 
Turkus's Avatar
 
Name: Bruce

Location:
  Riverside County

Motorcycle:
  1993 BMW K75S

Join Date: Feb 2007

Posts: 4,183
Send a message via Skype™ to Turkus
2cents Google maps

Quote:
Originally Posted by CRASH View Post
Is there a trick or is this bugged?
you can do it by picking multiple points along the route (and focing a loop if that is what you are after) BUT you burn up valuable "destination markers"
(I think you only get A through X - DAMHIK)

Google maps bite............but what do you want for free ??
__________________
Bruce

Adventure is just poor planning - Roald Amundsen

GMR1 2009

Ride Safe and with a purpose
www.streetmasters.info

Follow Streetmasters on Facebook
Turkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 09:20 PM   #3
bosozoku
Super Member
 
bosozoku's Avatar
 
Name: Steve

Location:
  Oregon

Motorcycle:
  Yamaha XJ Mongrel

Join Date: Apr 2005

Posts: 5,312
Re: Google maps

I think it's set up for cagers, hence the intolerance for creative routing..

The good news is that the loop road snowplowing has been completed much earlier than usual, about 10 days ago.
bosozoku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 09:24 PM   #4
CRASH
Cooligan
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Name: Dan

Location:
  Santa Cruz Mountains

Motorcycle:
  2004 BMW K1200GT

Join Date: Feb 2005

Posts: 3,334
Re: Google maps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turkus View Post
you can do it by picking multiple points along the route (and focing a loop if that is what you are after) BUT you burn up valuable "destination markers"
(I think you only get A through X - DAMHIK)

Google maps bite............but what do you want for free ??
I tried putting them so close they were almost on top of each other. No good all of a sudden the route will change and loop me around and outside Crater Lake and back in.

I usually use MS Streets and Trips and like it okay. I do use Google to double check things at times since none of them are perfect. Was just trying to post some routes up for folks to comment on and am about ready to say nasty things.
__________________
- CRASH -
AMA# 1103547
BMWMOA# 159231
IBA# 21680
Jenny's # 867-5309
"These are my Pashnit/Passionate boys." - Tyler Risk
CRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 06:09 AM   #5
Knife
Senior Member
 
Knife's Avatar
 
Name: John

Location:
  Downingtown, PA

Motorcycle:
  '98 Honda VFR

Join Date: Dec 2007

Posts: 391
Re: Google maps

I thought you could "drag" the route line and drop it wherever you wanted to, but maybe I'm confusing it with other mapping programs. I'll give it a try tonight.
Knife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 07:18 AM   #6
Don Tuite
Silverback
 
Don Tuite's Avatar
 
Name: Don

Location:
  Redwood City, CA

Motorcycle:
  Burgman 650

Join Date: Jul 2007

Posts: 65
Re: Google maps

Divide and conquer. Set up your segments as separate trips.
Don Tuite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 07:56 AM   #7
CRASH
Cooligan
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Name: Dan

Location:
  Santa Cruz Mountains

Motorcycle:
  2004 BMW K1200GT

Join Date: Feb 2005

Posts: 3,334
Re: Google maps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Tuite View Post
Divide and conquer. Set up your segments as separate trips.
The lap around Crater Lake would be a single segment. Basically, you CANNOT drive around Crater Lake based on Goggle Maps. Try it, route form Prospect and go up to Diamond Lake and make a lap around the lake on your way. I have tried it on 3 different computers now and all behave the same. The program is buggy or I am doing something wrong, but what is beyond me.

Knife, you can drag, but there is something amiss on this route.

Here is what it looks like:

http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?oe=ut...,0.264187&z=13
__________________
- CRASH -
AMA# 1103547
BMWMOA# 159231
IBA# 21680
Jenny's # 867-5309
"These are my Pashnit/Passionate boys." - Tyler Risk
CRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 08:06 AM   #8
shaklee909
V-Strom rider
 
shaklee909's Avatar
 
Name: Steve

Location:
  San Bernardino

Motorcycle:
  2006 DL1000

Join Date: Jan 2007

Posts: 522
Re: Google maps

Try this one

Quote:
Originally Posted by CRASH View Post
The lap around Crater Lake would be a single segment. Basically, you CANNOT drive around Crater Lake based on Goggle Maps. Try it, route form Prospect and go up to Diamond Lake and make a lap around the lake on your way. I have tried it on 3 different computers now adn all behave the same. The program is buggy or I am doing something wrong, but what is beyond me.

Knife, you can drag, but there is something amiss on this route.

Here is what it looks like:

http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?oe=ut...,0.264187&z=13
shaklee909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 09:15 AM   #9
CRASH
Cooligan
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Name: Dan

Location:
  Santa Cruz Mountains

Motorcycle:
  2004 BMW K1200GT

Join Date: Feb 2005

Posts: 3,334
Re: Google maps

I tried a bunch, I guess just not the right combination. Thanks.
__________________
- CRASH -
AMA# 1103547
BMWMOA# 159231
IBA# 21680
Jenny's # 867-5309
"These are my Pashnit/Passionate boys." - Tyler Risk
CRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 09:18 AM   #10
CRASH
Cooligan
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Name: Dan

Location:
  Santa Cruz Mountains

Motorcycle:
  2004 BMW K1200GT

Join Date: Feb 2005

Posts: 3,334
Re: Google maps

Ah, well close ... now keep going around to leave o the north and I am back at the same issue again. Still playin.
__________________
- CRASH -
AMA# 1103547
BMWMOA# 159231
IBA# 21680
Jenny's # 867-5309
"These are my Pashnit/Passionate boys." - Tyler Risk
CRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to link and display Google Maps and MapQuest Maps. matthewp California - Road Trips & Pics, pics, pics 21 05-12-2011 04:44 AM
Google maps transfer onto Garmin 750? Icambel1 GPS & Mapping Technology for Travel 4 07-28-2009 05:35 PM
embedded google maps not working? j2x Pashnit Interactive 10 06-03-2009 05:25 PM
Need help in posting google maps and routes?? Jimbo94 Pashnit Interactive 2 08-29-2008 09:08 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Pashnit.com - All rights reserved
no new posts