Motoroads

Old 09-29-2011, 03:43 PM   #1
CRASH
Cooligan

Name: Dan

Motorcycle:
  2004 BMW K1200GT

Yes Virginia, Flats do happen.

I have been riding for over 38 years and have had 2 (okay, 3 now) flats. Lost a front valve stem once and had a tube blow out on the rear once. I have been carrying plug kits around for at least 20 years and an air compressor for about 8 ... and never had the opportunity to use them. Let me tell you, having it when you do need it is priceless. Got off the highway today and must have picked up a nail in the construction zone on the off ramp. In less than mile I had to pull into a parking lot for an errand and the bike was handling bad. I checked the front tire since it felt like what was off and nothing. Came out and saw my bike squishing the back (and it is strange I hardly ever park on the side stand, but had I not this time, I would not have noticed it right away).

No worries, found the nice neat little hole, pulled out the tire plug stuff. Used the Slime air compressor and put some pressure in the tire to make sure the hole I found was the only one. I carry a full array, plugs with a plug gun and gooey worms. Decided on the worms ( I tested the plugs once on a tire off the rim and it didn't inspire me, but then, it was not tested under real world applications). Reamed the hole, pushed in a worm and made sure it was in good. Pumped up the tire. The Slime pump is only supposed to run for 8 minutes at a time or it will over heat. If you let it cool for 15 minutes or so, it can then finish up most any tire. The 8 minutes gave me 32 PSI and with a gas station across the street, I packed up, rode it over and finished filling up to 42 PSI. Got home, still at 42 PSI.