Pashnit Motorcycle Forum

CA Moto Roads Get your Pashnit PASHNIT
Go Back   Pashnit Motorcycle Forum > General Forums > Mods, Gadgets & Gear

Notices

Tours

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2007, 05:46 PM   #41
vnsfxr
Gettin' Dirty Again
 
vnsfxr's Avatar
 
Name: Vince

Location:
  Lake County, CA

Motorcycle:
  DR650, GT1000

Join Date: Nov 2004

Posts: 1,400
Re: Added a Throttlemeister...

Quote:
Originally Posted by rush_law
Hey SmarmBeast (where did that name come from ha ha! ) Not sure if anyone answered your question but yes you move your hand toward the outside of the grip....kind of half on the throttle, half on the Throttlemeister. With the outside of your hand you twist the TM toward you a bit while keeping normal pressure on the throttle. Then you can move your hand back to just the throttle and find your desired throttle tension and it stays there until you manually move it either forward for lower pressure (slower speeds) or back (for higher speed.) Then you can relax your hand. Even while engaged you are still in control of the throttle, you just have to manually move it back and forth until you release the TM. Glad I had it on my Labor day trip to Colorado!
Yup, this is why I have an NEP throttle lock............just a flip of the thumb and it is on or off and you can still adjust throttle settings, only costs around $15.00

That leaves a $100 for gas and lunches
__________________
“A man with a brief case can steal more money than a man with a gun” Don Henley
vnsfxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 01:06 AM   #42
tiretread
Junior Member
 
Name: Russ

Location:
  Currently Deployed

Motorcycle:
  00 Suzuki Hayabusa / 03 V-strom 1K

Join Date: Sep 2007

Posts: 8
Re: Added a Throttlemeister...

Just to chime in. I have a throtte-meister on my strom. Problem was, I had after-market bars so everything didn't fit perfectly. Actually, it didn't fit at all. No problem. The guys at throttle-meister (can't remember their names off the top of my head) sent me several size nut/bolts/washers/etc. to try and match it up. I finally got the right combo. The TM guys took care of me quickly and without charging me any additional $$$. Great product and even better customer service.
tiretread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 06:32 AM   #43
rush_law
Ridin' n' AZ
 
rush_law's Avatar
 
Name: Jim

Location:
  Gilbert, AZ

Motorcycle:
  2006 Hayabusa Limited Edition. 2007 Triumph Speed Triple

Join Date: Mar 2006

Posts: 302
Re: Added a Throttlemeister...

Quote:
Originally Posted by vnsfxr
Yup, this is why I have an NEP throttle lock............just a flip of the thumb and it is on or off and you can still adjust throttle settings, only costs around $15.00

That leaves a $100 for gas and lunches
If I made it sound complicated, it isn't. It's really quite simple. Can't beat the big savings though!
rush_law is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 12:25 PM   #44
gaston
Senior Member
 
gaston's Avatar
 
Name: gaston

Location:
  quebec,canada

Motorcycle:
  honda st1300

Join Date: Jun 2007

Posts: 151
Re: Added a Throttlemeister...

i received throttlemeister today, i look at all the parts and instruction,is there something else i should know before i start installationis there some little ajus trick thatsomebody discovered
__________________
v4life
gaston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 01:28 PM   #45
pashnit
Yes, I'm the guy
 
pashnit's Avatar
 
Name: Tim

Location:
  NorCal

Motorcycle:
  Hayabusa

Join Date: Oct 2004

Posts: 14,817
Re: Added a Throttlemeister...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaston View Post
i received throttlemeister today, i look at all the parts and instruction,is there something else i should know before i start installationis there some little ajus trick thatsomebody discovered
Nothing fancy Gaston, just replaces your bar ends. There are several washers in the kit, so you'll have to dabble a bit to get the tension just right. Too many washers, and the throttlemeister won't contact the grip properly. Too little, and it' might be too tight. Don't forget to put a dab of Loctite on the bolt when you screw it into the bar end.
pashnit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 03:04 PM   #46
gaston
Senior Member
 
gaston's Avatar
 
Name: gaston

Location:
  quebec,canada

Motorcycle:
  honda st1300

Join Date: Jun 2007

Posts: 151
Re: Added a Throttlemeister...

thanks,tim.
__________________
v4life
gaston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 12:24 PM   #47
Black Eye
Junior Member
 
Black Eye's Avatar
 
Name: Luke

Location:
  Texas

Motorcycle:
  2011 Honda CB1000R

Join Date: Jan 2008

Posts: 33
Re: Added a Throttlemeister...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Law Dawg View Post
I use a larger rubber O ring on my Beemer. It just rolls between the bar end and the rubber grip and is big enough to not sink too far down and get lost (and so rolls right off too). Got three of them for .98...my wife almost beaned me when I said "Honey, I bought three throttle locks today. Two extra for back up."

I know this thread is older, but you got any pics of this setup. Where would one purchase this O ring you speak of Home Depot/Lowes/Auto Store....where would I look and what size is it?

Thanks
Black Eye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 05:16 PM   #48
Grissom
Senior Member
 
Grissom's Avatar
 
Name: Peter

Location:
  NorCal

Motorcycle:
  Bandit 1200S

Join Date: Dec 2005

Posts: 112
Re: Added a Throttlemeister...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Eye View Post
I know this thread is older, but you got any pics of this setup. Where would one purchase this O ring you speak of Home Depot/Lowes/Auto Store....where would I look and what size is it?

Thanks
Caterpillar 8M 4991
Grissom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 11:48 AM   #49
atoyf
Junior Member
 
Name: Anton

Location:
  Bay Area

Motorcycle:
  2005 Hayabusa

Join Date: Jan 2005

Posts: 76
Send a message via ICQ to atoyf Send a message via AIM to atoyf
Re: Added a Throttlemeister...

Does anyone know here what throttlelocker will work with heated grips?

I don't have anything yet, i want heated grips and throttle lock, any thoughts of it's possible in a good usable way?
__________________
Best Reagards, Anton
atoyf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 02:11 PM   #50
gaston
Senior Member
 
gaston's Avatar
 
Name: gaston

Location:
  quebec,canada

Motorcycle:
  honda st1300

Join Date: Jun 2007

Posts: 151
Re: Added a Throttlemeister...

Quote:
Originally Posted by atoyf View Post
Does anyone know here what throttlelocker will work with heated grips?

I don't have anything yet, i want heated grips and throttle lock, any thoughts of it's possible in a good usable way?
throttlemeister works with heated grips
__________________
v4life
gaston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Pashnit.com - All rights reserved
no new posts